Getting Prepared: Overview of Home Emergency Kit

Who loves emergency kits??  I do!  I do!  Being a bit obsessed with survivalism, I love researching about and planning for survival situations.  I really don’t know why I find it fun planning for a terrible, life-threatening event, but I do think being prepared for a survival / emergency situation is valuable.  According to PreparedBC, the types of disasters that could happen in British Columbia include earthquakes, tsunamis, flooding, and wildfires.

Not long ago, I ended up purchasing an emergency grab-and-go bag from Survivormate, a local Canadian company based in Port Moody, BC.  This was after years of procrastinating, telling myself that I would put together my own emergency kit.  I figured I would definitely save money doing it myself.  But recently, I’ve had to admit that I was just…too lazy.  I was not actually ever going to do it.  I wasn’t going to research what were the best items to put in it, go to the different stores to pick up the kit items, shop around at other stores to try to find the best deal, etc.

In the end, I’m very happy with this kit and I actually think it might have cost me more to do the shopping myself, surprisingly, because I don’t think I would have been able to find the best deals for every item.  It’s also unlikely that I would have assembled such a complete kit with such well thought-out items.

So here’s a shot of the full contents of this 2-person kit, which includes supplies that should get you through 3 days (the minimum, as recommended by PreparedBC):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For a detailed list of what’s in this kit, please click HERE.

The items I was most impressed with in this kit were items that I would not have thought to include myself:

1) Military grade food bars (vegetarian)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These bars are impressive!  They are a great pick for an emergency kit because of their 5 year shelf life in all temperatures and their packability.  I was surprised by how much engineering has gone into these bars. These food bars are super compact and lightweight for their calorie count.  Although their packaging is unappealing (as appetizing as a vacuum-sealed brick), apparently these SOS Food Lab bars are actually quite palatable, and have been described as tasting a bit like shortbread or coconut cookies.  The other pro with these food bars is they don’t require water to rehydrate, which means you won’t waste your water resources to make food.  Even more remarkable is these bars were designed to help the body conserve fluids and will not trigger thirst, like many other foods would.  Impressive, right?!

2) Crank AM/FM radio / flashlight

P5171676.JPG

Having a flashlight and radio that can be recharged without electricity is fantastic, as it makes you less reliant on the life of the battery. The instructions report that 1 minute of cranking results in 10 minutes of light, which seems pretty functional.  The crank AM/FM radio can be charged via USB and can also be used to charge an Android cell phone (but no adapter for iPhones, unfortunately).

3)  Amazing Towels

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Wow!  From a tiny white disc to a REAL TOWEL!  A quarter is shown in the photo for scale.

These are ultra packable moist towelettes.  They start out as a white disc not much bigger than a quarter.  They grow to be about the size of a hand towel, by adding a bit of water.  Cool piece of kit!

4)Military-style folding stove

These stoves are very lightweight, packable, and versatile.  These can be used to boil and purify water, cook food, provide some heat, etc.  They can accommodate solid fuel tablets or even twigs, sticks, etc.

Even after buying a complete emergency kit, don’t forget to add a few things:

  • Medications (e.g. Tylenol, Aspirin, Polysporin, any prescription medications you require, etc.)
  • Warm clothes and some sturdy shoes
  • Money – make sure to have some small bills and change
  • Possibly more food and water supplies – because although most kits provide you with the minimum needed to survive, you probably will be very hungry and thirsty, and it’s best to be prepared for more than the minimum 3 days and aim for 7 days.

Overall, I’m happy with my kit – it’s complete, good quality, and it gives me peace of mind that my emergency prep is done.  And it’s never a bad idea to be prepared!

Disclaimer:  I am not an expert in emergency preparedness.  These are my opinions only.  If you have specific questions about emergency preparation, please seek out advice from a local authority.
Leave a Reply

