Camping and Hiking in the Kootenay Rockies

“Let’s beat traffic and hit the road early!”

“Yeah!  Like 6:30?”

“Yeah!  Great idea!  Or maybe like 7:30?”

“Yeah!”

Shortly later…”So I’ll pick you up at 9:30?”

“Yeah.”

After 9 hours on the road, we arrived in the Kootenays.  We stayed a couple of nights at a beautiful lake-front campground.

P7122583.JPG
Lakefront Camping in the Kootenays

Here, I really felt like we were getting a taste of Canadian wilderness.  Every night we were there, we heard a loon call in the evenings.  If you’ve ever heard a loon call, you know it’s the most Canadian sound in the world!  We also heard a bard owl and a lot of squirrel noises.  I had no idea they had such a wide-ranging vocabulary of chatter!

We saw an osprey and hawk circling the lake a few times hunting.  Saw the hawk eat a small fish out of its talons, sitting on a branch right above our heads!  It felt like a BBC documentary.

We went on a few short hikes with truly spectacular views.  The trails had amazing viewpoints every step of the way.  I really had to be careful where I put my foot down, because my head was on a swivel, looking at everything with my eyes wide.

P7122388.JPG
Hiking in the Kootenays – following the ridge up to the peak
P7122447.JPG
Hiking in the Kootenays – drop-offs on both sides!  No place for a tumble!

Saw amazing alpine wildflowers!  What a great time of year to be up there.  They only bloom for 2 months, I was told.  So it’s a small window you can catch them.

P7152795.JPG
Alpine wildflowers in bloom
P7122446.JPG
Hiking in the alpine and surrounded by wildflowers

It was hot during our stay and reached 34°C (93°F) in the afternoon, so having easy lake access was a real reprieve from the heat!  We swam and did some paddling. Stand-up paddle-boarding, I’m discovering, is a great sport for me.  I look adventurous and athletic, but really, it’s just an excellent way for me to float around with my fingers trailing in the water…

P7122570.JPG
Floating on my paddleboard

Overall, a fantastic trip.  Can’t wait to go back!

P7122302.JPG
Heading home!
5 Replies to “Camping and Hiking in the Kootenay Rockies”

    1. Oh you really must! Your area is beautiful (I’ve been following you as well) but Canada is beautiful in a very different way!! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

